3 Days, 3 Dates

 

Guys.

GUYS.

YOU GUYS.

My husband is the best!!

Okay, obviously a cheesy opener there, but seriously. Read the title if you haven’t already and then you’ll understand. This guy totally planned 3 dates over the weekend and it was awesome!

Date Night #1: Dodgers vs. Cubs & Friday Night Fireworks at Dodger Stadium

IMG_6249  FullSizeRender

Neither one of us really follows baseball, but we’ve been to a Dodgers game before and feel ties to the team because we live here. However, both of us have actual reasons for loving the Cubbies! Husband lived not far from Chicago growing up and my great-grandfather lived in Chicago after coming through Ellis Island. He was always a huge Cubs fan and my older brother is as well. So I’m a fan by relation, I guess!

The game was actually super fun to watch. We went into extra innings and the Cubs ended up clinching the win with help from the beautiful Kris Bryant. ❤ The firework show was pretty fab because it was Beatles night so they had sweet music playing through the whole thing. We dined on delicious Dodger dogs and nachos and washed it all down with Dodger ale.

Date Night #2: Dave Matthews Band at Irvine Meadows Amphitheatre

IMG_6252

This one was a bit of a drive, but well worth it! We left late afternoon and went straight to the most important place in the city of Irvine, Raisin’ Cane’s Chicken Fingers. If you don’t know what that is, I’m sorry. I’m so, so sorry. Because they have the most delicious chicken fingers you will ever stuff your face with. There aren’t many of them out here and definitely aren’t any close by, so when I found out we were going to be down the road from one, I knew we’d have to stop.

After getting a taste of home at Cane’s (the first one opened right outside the gates of LSU), we made our way to the venue. Y’all, this place was PACKED. Like, I had no idea how absolutely insane it would be. I got to see Dave live once at Jazz Fest so that was a busy place, sure, but NOTHING like Irvine. We had tickets for the lawn which is basically just walking around until you can find somewhere to sit/stand. We walked all the way around and didn’t find anything so we made our spot in a corner on the highest part of the lawn. Couldn’t see anything and for whatever reason, no one around us was paying attention. So all we heard was talking and people flashing the phone lights because they couldn’t see. After like 30 minutes of that mess we walked around again until we found a spot a little closer. I eventually pushed us down the hill until I managed to weasel us all the way to the front. We could see everything! Ended up being a great place to catch the second half of the concert.

IMG_0361

First Spot… Nothing…

IMG_0363

Second Spot… There he is!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dave was great, obviously, and we had lots of fun!

Date Night #3: The Magic Freaking Castle (or just the Magic Castle)

IMG_0365          IMG_0369

I was so beyond stoked for this one! The other two date nights were surprises, so super fun because of that, but this one I had known about for a long time. When we were on our honeymoon, there was a magician at one of the restaurants we went to doing close-up magic. He offered us his business card and said if we ever wanted to go to Magic Castle, he could get us guest passes. Like this place is for magicians and guests of magicians only. You can’t just walk in and be amazed. Not a thing. So we decided for our 6 month-iversary we would celebrate with a night of illusion. We got all dressed up, drove down to Hollywood, took a photo by the velvet ropes and headed into the castle for dinner.

I won’t share everything about the night because a big part of the allure is the secretive nature of the castle, but I will say they aren’t lying when they tell you there’s magic around every corner. I mean seriously. At one point I set my glass of wine on a bar table and next thing you know it was on the other side. I don’t care how drunk you get – wine don’t move like that! Spinning table maybe?? Also, ask anyone there for help and they’ll be happy to tell you all about the history of the castle. We learned so much by just approaching random employees and asking for stories!

We did the dinner/show combo so after having filet mignon and a Houdini cab, we went into a magic show featuring three fantastically entertaining magicians. Um, also, at one point, one of them asked for a volunteer. I don’t know if my hand has ever shot up so fast. I absolutely love magic and was so very delighted to get up on stage and be a part of it! Granted, I was totally the but of the joke, but I did not at all care. Good thing I had worn a dress of sequins and glitter pumps – I was the perfect magician’s assistant!

It was a loooooong night though and after a full weekend of fun I was exhausted. So Monday, I did nothing. Nothing at all. And it was glorious.

Well, there you have it! Our jam-packed weekend of fun! Oh, and don’t mind me while I have the best day of my life on Friday… I’ll be sure to update again once I get back from…

SWIMMING WITH OTTERS!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

