Resolution Update

2014USo for the first time in a long time I made a New Year’s resolution and posted it to the masses to hold myself accountable. I’m here today to openly admit that I’ve hit a snag.

Since I wrote that post, I’ve had maybe half a dozen auditions and I’ve made it to every single one! That is, until I didn’t.

The other day, I got an e-mail about a callback for an audition I had recorded back in January. This time, they wanted me to come in for a live audition, to read for both parts and there was something about a bikini that I didn’t know would be required. I was thrown off a smidge by all that, but keeping my resolution in mind, I responded. Plus, I was actually really interested in doing the project because I thought it would give me some great reel footage. I noticed the audition time wouldn’t fit with my work schedule so I went back and forth with the CD trying to change it. I released my shift at work, I asked around to see if anyone could cover me and I tried to calculate exactly how fast I would have to drive to get from Hollywood to Westlake in 30 minutes. (That would be like 100 miles an hour, so…)

Eventually, I realized that without changing my audition time or skipping out on work, I wouldn’t be able to make the audition. I could try to go anyway and hope for the best, but I would run the risk of missing work or being very late. On top of that, I had just gotten scheduled to work for the days they were filming so if I did book the role, more headaches would ensue.

I talked it over with the boyfriend and we eventually agreed that it was okay to miss an audition for those reasons and I wasn’t “copping out” like I feared. I got up the next morning and started planning a day of working out and hanging by the pool. I was super bummed and felt like I was already wrecking my resolution even though I had done all I could.

Then, like it always does when you least expect it, opportunity came a knockin’! I got a call from a studio asking me to come in for a role that I hadn’t even submitted for. They had my info on file and needed me to audition in…two hours…in Hollywood. Yikes! I threw my plans out the window and started getting ready. Luckily they didn’t have any sides for me and I could improv the whole thing. I was able to make it to the audition with no problem and get back home in plenty of time for work.

So at the end of the day, I missed one audition, but very randomly gained another! It made me feel like by doing all I could to make it to the first one, I was rewarded with a second one. Almost like the one I did make, canceled out the one I didn’t. 🙂

Woohoo resolution keeping me on track! How’s everyone else doing so far this year?

Leave a Reply

