My 2014 Resolution

2014I don’t usually make New Year’s resolutions, but this year I feel like I need to. After taking a whole year to settle into the L.A. lifestyle, get my apartment straight and start making back all that money I spent, it’s time to focus on why I’m here. So, with that said, my 2014 resolution is…

Go to every single audition.

That’s it! Easy, right? Well, not always. Part of this resolution includes submitting myself for more projects whether they are paid or not. It might sound crazy since some of those projects will force me to take time off of work, but that’s thinking too far ahead. All I’m concerned with is the audition part of it. Why? Simply put, practice makes perfect.

I know that putting myself on tape and brushing up on my cold reading skills are great ways to stay on top of my game. The thing is, it’s hard to do this “just because” when I know that no one will ever see what I’ve done and I won’t get any real feedback.

My goal with this resolution is to get so comfortable going to auditions that I’m ready at a moment’s notice. There are actually a few steps that I go through to get ready outside of just memorizing and preparing sides. I need to have my resume and headshot prepared. I need to have my outfit picked out and ready to go. I need to decide if I’m straightening my hair and set aside the painful hour of time all that mess will take. Hopefully, with practice, I’ll be able to quickly and efficiently prepare for auditions and go in with extreme confidence.

In my first year in L.A., I felt myself weaseling out of auditions that I really should have gone to. I would make excuses like, “I’m not really right for that part.” or “Well, it doesn’t pay enough for me to take time off of work so I won’t even bother.” Now, I’m not saying I’m going to just submit myself for some random free project that requires full nudity and beat myself up when I don’t make that audition. I just don’t want to allow myself to make excuses. I want to start looking at every audition as an opportunity to, at the very least, be an actor that day.

Okay, so, stipulations. There will be some instances when my work schedule will get in the way. I’m vowing to make every effort to get rid of or switch my shift to ensure I make the audition. If, however, I am unable to do that, then it’ll have to come down to a judgment call. Obviously, if Joss Whedon wants to see me during my scheduled lunch shift, I’m bailing on work and dealing with the consequences later. The bottom line is I have to hang on to my “day job” for now and I won’t compromise that job for an audition to act in a scene for a college directing class. That’s not to say I won’t go the same audition if it’s my day off. I’m just going to be selective is all.

So, there you have it friends! My 2014 resolution! I’ll keep everyone updated of course as the year goes on. Has anyone else out there made a resolution this year?

One thought on “My 2014 Resolution

  1. Pingback: Resolution Update | Nola to Socal

Leave a Reply

