Orphan Thanksgiving

IMG_3097Being away from family during the holidays can be really hard. It’s just not financially possible for me to go home for every one, and since I’m a server at a restaurant, I’m working for most of them anyway. This year, the restaurant was closed for Thanksgiving leaving me totally available to celebrate. The boyfriend has an aunt and uncle out here, but they were going to visit other family for the holidays and wouldn’t be around on that Thursday. Luckily, we were able to celebrate with them a few days early, but we were still left with nothing to do for Thanksgiving day.

Solution? LSU Orphan Thanksgiving! As I’ve said before, there’s LSU alumni everywhere and L.A. is certainly no exception. There are a few of them out here that I’ve known throughout college and a few more that I was reintroduced to upon moving to Los Angeles. For Thanksgiving this year, we decided to all get together as a family and spend the holiday with each other.

Everyone offered to bring a few different food items and, in true Louisiana fashion, everyone brought alcohol.  We actually had a full Thanksgiving dinner with all the trimmings and it was delicious! Turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, the works! We gathered to eat at a big table and even went around and said what we were thankful for. We reminisced about college, filled each other in on acting successes and talked about upcoming plans to go back to the South to visit.

It was nice to be surrounded by my fellow L.A. orphans from back home who are all in the same situation I am and understand what it’s like. I am so thankful for my SoCal family and cannot wait to see what the future holds for all of us!

Leave a Reply

