The Gumbo Pot

gumbopotFinally! I did it! I found a restaurant in Los Angeles that serves some seriously good Southern food – The Gumbo Pot!

Since the minute I settled into my apartment in the Valley I have been looking for good places to eat that reminded me of home. With the help of UrbanSpoon, I was able to find a couple places nearby that serve Cajun and creole cuisine. I tried out a few only to find jambalaya made with tomato paste and flavorless red beans and rice. I was disappointed at every turn and left each restaurant still craving some good ole Southern cooking.

One day, my boyfriend and I had the day off together and decided to visit The Grove. It’s an upscale, outdoor mall with a ton of restaurants and a farmer’s market. Neither one of us had been before, so we opted to walk through the mall and then have dinner somewhere new. We saw The Gumbo Pot on a long list of restaurants located in the farmer’s market, and since I had a hankering for a shrimp po’boy, we decided to give it a shot.

I was not very optimistic about the whole thing until I started reading the menu. Most places I had tried before featured fried chicken and blackened something served with a sorry excuse for gumbo. This place seemed to have it all – crawfish etouffee, seafood gumbo, shrimp po’boys and y’all, they had sweet tea.

I ordered the fried shrimp po’boy with high hopes and was absolutely not disappointed. It was everything I wanted it to be: French bread, seasoned shrimp and it was dressed with real mayonnaise. The only downside was that, unlike Louisiana po’boys, this one had fairly small shrimp that only covered the sandwich and didn’t overflow onto the plate. I can’t really knock them for that, though, considering shrimp is a lot cheaper in Louisiana than here.

I enjoyed my po’boy so much that I had my boyfriend get us a cup of seafood gumbo to try out. Again, absolutely not disappointed! It was perfectly seasoned, had all the right ingredients and made me feel like I was right at home. I could practically hear the jazz music and smell the beignets. It. Was. Glorious.

So, if you’re looking for a little SoCo in SoCal to satisfy your belly, look no further than The Gumbo Pot at The Grove!

One thought on “The Gumbo Pot

Leave a Reply

